Home / Distinguished Fellows / His Excellency President Dr. Václav Klaus, PhD, KGCWL, KGCTGM, KGCIC

His Excellency President Dr. Václav Klaus, PhD, KGCWL, KGCTGM, KGCIC


© PHOTOGRAPH of New Westminster College - Distinguished Fellow - President Václav Klaus of the Czech Republic - http://newwestminstercollege.ca

BIOGRAPHICAL SUMMARYHis Excellency President Dr. Václav Klaus, PhD, KGCWL, KGCTGM, KGCIC

His Excellency President Václav Klaus is the second President of the Czech Republic (2003-2013) and a Distinguished Fellow of New Westminster College. He studied at the University of Economics in Prague and graduated in 1963 and economics became his field of a lifetime. He currently holds a professorship in finance at the University of Economics also in Prague. His earned Ph.D. is in Econometrics.

President Klaus has a distinguished record of ethical leadership. As a researcher at the Economics Institute of Academy of Sciences, he completed postgraduate research and in 1968 achieved the rank of Candidate of Economic Sciences. In 1970, the then purges of the Academy of Sciences fired for political reasons and for many years worked at menial positions in the State Bank of Czechoslovakia. From the end of 1987 he returned to academic activity at the Prognostic Institute. Until 1989, he was never a member of any political party and never aspired to be. Immediately after 17 November 1989, he entered politics, but his contact with the world of economics was lost. In addition, he occasionally lectured and published in 1991 at Charles University as a lecturer in economics. In 1995, he was appointed Professor of Finance at the University of Economics in Prague.

President Klaus’ political career started in December 1989, when he became Federal Minister of Finance. In October 1991, he was appointed Deputy Prime Minister of Czechoslovakia. At the end of 1990 he became chairman of the then strongest political entity – the Civic Forum. In April 1991, he co-founded the Civic Democratic Party, of which he was chairman from its inception until December 2002. With this party, he won the June 1992 parliamentary elections and became Prime Minister of the Czech Republic. In this role, he participated in the peaceful division of Czechoslovakia and the establishment of the independent Czech Republic. In 1996, in the elections to the Chamber of Deputies, this function defended. After the collapse of the governing coalition, he resigned in November 1997. After the early elections in 1998, he began a four-year term as President of the Chamber of Deputies.

On 28 February 2003, he was elected President of the Parliament of the Czech Republic for a five-year term. This mandate had been extended on 15 February 2008 and he was re-elected for a second term.

After completing his tenure as President of the Czech Republic in March 2013, he moved to the castle in Prague Hanspaulce to the newly built Institute Vaclav Klaus , which was conceived as a liberal-conservative think tank with its own research study activities, seminars, conferences and other events and programs for professionals and the general public.

President Klaus has published over 40 books on topics of general, social, political and economic subjects and is the recipient of numerous international awards and honorary doctorates from universities around the world.

President Klaus holds honourary doctorates from the following universities:

  • 1991: Rochester Institute of Technology, New York City, New York, USA
  • 1991: Suffolk University, Boston, Massachusetts, USA
  • 1993: University of Francisco Marroquín, Guatemala
  • 1993: University of Guadalajara, Mexico
  • 1994: University of Economics, Prague
  • 1994: Belgrano University, Argentina
  • 1994: Tufts University, Boston, Massachusetts, USA
  • 1994: University of Law, Economics and Science of Aix-Marseille, Aix-en-Provence, France
  • 1995: Jacksonville University, Florida, USA
  • 1996: University of Buckingham, Buckingham, UK
  • 1996: Universität Passau, Passau, Germany
  • 1997: University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • 1997: VSB  Technical University of Ostrava
  • 1997: University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona, USA
  • 1999: University of Dallas, Dallas, Texas, USA
  • 1999: DePaul University, Chicago, Illinois, USA
  • 2003: Finance Academy, Moscow, Russian Federation
  • 2004: Universidade Portucalense, Porto, Portugal
  • 2004: Military Academy, Brno, Czech Republic
  • 2004: Kazakh National University “Al-Farabi”, Almaty, Kazakhstan
  • 2004: National University of Uzbekistan, Tashkent, Uzbekistan
  • 2004: Kyrgyz State University, Bishkek
  • 2004: University of Economics, Bratislava, Slovak Republic
  • 2004: Napier University, Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
  • 2004: Brunel University, London, UK
  • 2004: Known Universities of National and World Economy, Sofia, Bulgaria
  • 2005: Amerasian University, Aurora, Colorado, USA
  • 2005: Visva-Bharati University, Santiniketan, Birbhum, West Bengal, India
  • 2006: Università degli Studi di Trento, Trento, Italy
  • 2006: Cass Business School, City University, London, United Kingdom
  • 2006: Tallinn University of Technology, Tallinn, Estonia
  • 2006: Kaunas University of Technology, Kaunas, Lithuania
  • 2006: University of Athens, Athens, Greece
  • 2007: Czech Technical University, Prague
  • 2007: Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan
  • 2007: Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University, Beppu, Japan
  • 2007: Technical University of Dresden, Dresden, Germany
  • 2007: University of New Orleans, New Orleans, USA
  • 2007: Universität Innsbruck, Innsbruck, Austria
  • 2007: Moscow State University, Moscow, Russian Federation
  • 2007: University of JEPurkyně, Ústí nad Labem
  • 2008: Dimitrie Cantemir Christian University, Bucharest, Romania
  • 2009: Member of the Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts
  • 2009: Universidad del Pacifico, Lima, Republic of Peru
  • 2009: Fundacao Armando Alvares Penteado, São Paulo, Federal Republic of Brazil
  • 2011: University of Technology
  • 2012: Uniwersytet Stefana Kardynała Wyszyńskiego, Warsaw, Poland

President Klaus’ decorations and honours include:

  • 2004: Knight Grand Cross of the Order of Isabella the Catholic – Spain
  • 2007: Medal of Pushkin – Russian Federation
  • 2007: Order of the White Eagle – Poland
  • 2008: Saxon Merit Cross – Saxony
  • 2009: Grand Cross of the Order of Vytautas the Great – Lithuania
  • 2009: Grand Star of the Decoration for Services to the Republic of Austria – Austria
  • 2013: Order of the White Double Cross – Slovakia
  • 2013: Knight Grand Cross of the Order of Tomáš Garrigue Masaryk – Czech Republic
  • 2013: Knight Grand Cross of the Order of the White Lion – Czech Republic
  • 2013: Distinguished Fellow of New Westminster College – Canada

As a Distinguished Fellow of New Westminster College, His Excellency President Václav Klaus is dedicated to supporting the highest standards of academic excellence and is committed to the advancement of New Westminster College and its Global Network of Fellows.


1 Comment

  1. […] His Excellency Dr. Václav Klaus, PhD, KGCWL, KGCTGM, KGCIC […]


Leave a Comment


You must be logged in to post a comment.